Strange Day

Now that I’ve announced several places that this is where I intend to work out loud, I may not swear as much. My audience, if and when they peruse what’s here, will still get the beta, draft, push-the-envelope Jay thinking. Be aware that’s it’s all unofficial, unbaked speculation. This is where it starts, not where it ends.

At 9:00 this morning I went to the Marrakech Room (my office and library) and popped open Flickr. I wanted to assemble pictures of art from among my 34,000 photos from the last dozen years. I got caught up in it, clicking among photographs and becoming re-acquainted with when I saw them and what I saw in them and what was going on at the time. I went 100% into a Mihaly Csikszentmihaly flow state. Three and a half hours later I was starving to death (no breakfast yet) and I had other tasks to accomplish.

What a wonderful trip. You can see what I selected here: Art//embedr.flickr.com/assets/client-code.js“.

That free-flowing experience gave the boys in the back room time to think about the three blog posts on Real Learning I need to submit real soon in order to get them published in sync with the release of the book. Also, I’m embargoed from using my own words until 10 days after publication by the other site, eLearning Industry.

I’m happy to report that I completed all three articles and have but to send them to the publisher. Bravo! Did the four hours of free-flow idle time boost my creative output?  It would only make sense if Drunk House Pink is right that just seeing the image of a light bulb  increases your output 15%.  Seeing 450 Monet, Aborigine, Greek, Lichtenstein, Picasso, and more must have pushed me through to the deadline.

 

Leave a Reply

