self-assessing new realizaiton.

While reading up on SDL I came across a point that might be useful for the real learning book: a specific section on how to self-assess the new learning realizations.

Let me quickly share how the idea came to mind and then follow it up by describing why I see this as a possible addition.

The starting point was an article (and design option) described by Jeroen van Merrienboer The Four-Component Instructional Design Model:
Multimedia Principles in Environments for Complex Learning (to be found here: http://portal.ou.nl/…/207192…/Multimediabook_2ndEd_FINAL.pdf

Plogs turn into portfolios in the article. They are used to demonstrate competency, sort of an online resume. 

 $$$looking this next one up

.
In this design van Merriënboer tries to find a authentic learning design for complex learning (learning tasks, supportive information, procedural information and part-task practice). So far, nothing new.
BUT! When reading up on a more recent article based on the van Merrienboer design, something was mentioned that might be off interest to the real learning book (article called Designing on-demand education for simultaneous development of domain-specificand self-directed learning skills, to be found here http://onlinelibrary.wiley.com/…/10.11…/jcal.12076/abstract…

). What was mentioned was self-assessment of what was learned via self-directed learning paths.

What interested me was this one thing: reflection combined with self-assessing what is learned. Within an organisation the tasks can be set, and as such one can easily self-assess whether the new learning – and more specifically the outcomes of it – are useful. But if a learner explores new realms of knowledge or disciplines, it becomes more complex to assess whether the conclusions taken out of the learning process are indeed correct.
A bit like the road to success which is almost never linear.

Although assessing is part of the real learning book, it seems indirectly related to learning: more on assessing your plans, your self, your capacities… While I was thinking about it, I could see how self-assessing of what is learned can be part of the plog-routine, or it can be discussed (if actively requested) with those who are part of the personal learning network. But I did wonder, whether it would be of interest to include a ‘how to self-assess new learning’. For instance, double loop learning is about optimising the process, but sometimes changes (for optimisation reasons) have actually had an opposite effect. And optimising a process is not the same as optimising one’s thoughts on a particular topic. So is there a set of tricks that can be used to self-assess the new knowledge. Can you assess what has not been tested before? Can you self-assess new knowledge in a way that it creates a safety net, or should we disregard safety nets when exploring the realms of real learning and simply know we will get up on our feet no matter what? Or is self-assessment actually an indication of already explored knowledge/learning?


Also, this email from Inge:

Ignatia/Inge de Waard

5:20 AM (3 hours ago)

to Jay

Jay, this book really really made many of my past days. I have not gone through every exercise, but I can honestly say it already got my mind at work. Or let me rephrase that: I refound a part of my mind that I lost.

The book is inspirational, and yes it is about personal growth through learning, learning through evidence-based actions. It is simply one of the best books I have read on taking your life into your own hands (once again). It truly made a difference and I am slowly taking up each exercise simply because those I did pick up, already gave me a sense of accomplishment as well as the feeling of coming closer to my new personal goal.
This makes my feedback rather limited at this point, but there is one thought that keeps coming up:
Maybe, as a way to add an additional word-of-mouth, there could be some sort of game added to the book. Not sure what that can be… but what I thought is related to the impact of any learning: what is the impact if one can not measure it?
So why not ask people to measure the impact of your book using a personal scale? For instance: I want to move towards a new professional goal (in simple terms: I need to find a job after my phd that will stimulate my brain). How do I go about doing this? What if I use your book and its actions to achieve it? Where does it take me, what does it make me do… and after one year… where am I at.
Where can somebody be after one year of implementing actions described in your book. Is there like a Real Learner Master Hat? Or some kind of material that gives an honorary feeling to who ever gets it? Remember the Master in eLearning Ellen Wagner got from the eLearning Guild? She is an accomplished professional, and still it makes a difference to get an award for excelling. In this case it could be personal excelling in real learning.
You might even get two moments where you invite people to meet up in a un-meeting or something…
Just dreaming maybe, but it feels like fun.
Hugs for now and really thank you very much for being able to read the book.
you are as always one of my great inspirations.
Looking forward to seeing you in Berlin.
Warmest of wishes and hugs for writing a great book!
Leave a Reply

