What’s in a name?

A member of the Aha! Advisory Panel Skyped me on Sunday. He didn’t think the name Aha! fit the book. Corporates won’t get it. And it sounds like just the moment of inspiration instead of the whole learning practice. I asked the Advisors for feedback.

Real Learning. I agree with Clark about informal learning. Real Learning is all about formal & informal learning in the real (personal & professional) world.

If I reflect on the 5 labels of the AHA proces of learning… I think AHA, Cast your net and JDI are too different if you compare these with the traditional learning labels like reflect and socialize.

From a conceptual point of view I do think the labels cash your net & socialize and AHA & reflect don’t exclude each other enough.

Today I’ll spend a while pondering names, seeing who else is using the label, and coming up with alternatives so I can make a selection rather than a yes/no decision.

The first Google search is encouraging. No corporate use, just a book about learning at home with the kids that’s a dozen years old. And an article by David Grebow.

The Short Definition of “Real Learning”

Real learning is the ability to adopt what you know and know-how to do and adapt it under an everchanging variety of circumstances.

No point beating around the pedagogical bush. I’ve been asked by a number of readers “How would you define real learning?”. Real learning is the ability to adopt what you know and know-how to do and adapt it under an ever-changing variety of circumstances. Learning is an ongoing process. That’s my definition and I’m sticking to it.

Real learning gets to the heart of what it means to be human. Through learning we re-create ourselves. Through learning we become able to do something we never were able to do. Through learning we re-perceive the world and our relationship to it. Through learning we extend our capacity to create, to be part of the generative process of life. There is within each of us a deep hunger for this type of learning.
Peter Senge MIT-based author, researcher & educator

Synonyms for real: true, genuine, natural, pure, sensible
More from the Advisors:
I have to say that your Aha and Reflect labels are, to me, the same thing. When I diagram, blog, write, etc, I’m reflecting. I think it’s Seek, Reflect, Enact, Share. Enact/Reflect is a loop that Seek feeds into and Share feeds out of.
Reflect is double loop learning. Not the right label but it’s fascinating when individual and teams are able to connect their double loop learning activities

clarkmodelThis makes a lot of sense. “Seek” doesn’t capture serendipitous sourcing, i.e. unintentionally finding things. And Sharing isn’t the final step since it’s an ongoing cycle.

perceiving, filtering, acquiring. It’s acquiring info through push or pull, from people, experience, search, reading, observation, and internal processing. The info gathering becomes relevant when it makes it through your selective perception into your field of awareness. Becomes conscious of a fresh thought.

Nonetheless, I like Real Learning better than Aha! As for the title, Clark’s suggestion of Aha: Real Learning captures the wake-up call aspect of this.

Still struggling a day later for what to call it when an idea makes it into our consciousness. Search? But things pop up on my personal radar that I’m not searching for.  Everything has managed to get through my selective perception. What sticks matches some interest or incomplete pattern or goal. Enter chapman

?

Leave a Reply

