Show your work on PInterest

I was going to buy Jane Bozarth’s book Show Your Work but decided not to when I found out the price was almost $50. What is Wiley thinking?

So I read Jane’s article in Learning Solutions and that pointed me to the visual site Pinterest. The visuals collected there are an amazing array of example of showing your work. I’m going to be learning here. And I should add info about this (and the Aha! page) to the text.

Lovely quote: Frank Lloyd Wright rightly put it, “An expert is a man who has stopped thinking because ‘he knows.’

From Maria Popova at Brainpickings: “That said, one thing I’ve honed over the years – in part by countless hours of reading and in part because I suspect it’s how my brain is wired – is drawing connections between things, often things not immediately or obviously related, spanning different disciplines and time periods. I wouldn’t call that “expertise” so much as obsession – it’s something that gives me enormous joy and stimulation, so I do it a great deal, but I don’t know if that constitutes expertise.” (Me too)

Now PInterest has taken me to Connie Malamud’s site. I am bookmarking lots of stuff to consider later.

And now back to graphics.

What I’ve read reinforces my belief that simple, uncluttered graphics work best. (Tufte, Clark.)

 

Leave a Reply

