Contrarian marketing and Aha1’s target customer

When I was marketing manager of a start-up medical records business, I initially expected the sloppiest doctors to want to automate patient records to lower their risk of lawsuits and make up for their illegible handwriting.

P1070026 (1)

P1070023 (1)

As I talked with the docs (I was “SVP of Physician Relations”), I realized I had it wrong.

badrec Doctors with indecipherable handwriting and incomprehensible patient charts don’t give a damn how their records look. They would never think of paying $500 for a software program to make them look spiffy. (Those scribbles are a real chart from a practicing rheumatologist.)

Our best prospects were neat freaks. Their records already looked like they’d been written by a elementary school teacher of the Palmer method. They lived uncluttered lives but figured there were still room for a little more progress.

Which brings me to Aha!

A friend of mine just bought Aha! I know he’s into it because he wrote me for advice on how to update his Plog by email. This is a thought leader who’s been in the field for 35 years. He kibitzes with Stanford faculty and corporate senior management. He’s like the neat-freak doctors. He’s mastered many topics. (He used to write one major white paper a month.) But he’s concerned he might not be learning as effectively as he might.

He emailed me “I consider myself someone who has been an informal learner ever since I got out of college, and I enjoy and seek new, interesting and enjoyable learning opportunities–especially when they are social and interactive. BUT, I am not sure I am as systematic and conscious about the various ways I learn and what I engage in through my various learning journeys. So, if your Aha! Project can help in that regard, I am ready.”

Maybe the market is not the clueless but rather, people who are already effective learners who yearn to improve.

Leave a Reply

