Finding the right audience

60 people have purchased Aha! and another 27 have opened review copies.  As far as I can tell, few of these people are doing the exercises because by and large, they are the wrong people. I want to test Aha! on individuals who long to learn how to learn, not on folks in the L&D trade. I need a new pitch and new channels. Aha! is here because mainstream L&D has failed.

I wonder what the cost of seat-of-the-pants learning is. There are 150 million workers in the U.S. The GAO found that contingent workers, broadly defined, comprised 40.4% of the workforce in 2010, up from 35.3% in 2006. Most of that growth came not from typical freelancers or temp workers but from an increase in permanent part-timers, a category that grew as employers cut hours and hired fewer full-time workers during the recession.

Here’s my latest take on what Aha! encompasses:

Learn from experience without 
instructors or classrooms. 
It’s Aha! learning.

  • Work smarter and have more impact
  • Learn faster and remember more
  • Embrace openness and learn out loud
  • Make sound learning practices into lifelong habits
  • Co-create knowledge with colleagues
  • Plan how to achieve your growth goals
  • Learn to be the person you aspire to be

How much would that be worth to an organization? Twenty-five years ago, and now lost in dust of time, a blurb in HBR said that training the high-performer was several times more valuable than training the mid-range performer. Yet it’s these very high-fliers who are served by the training organization at all. (For that to happen, training departments would have a show interest in sound training practices throughout the organization, not just through the programs they offer.)

I need team leader instructions telling organizations how to implement Aha!

How can I create an invitation that will scale? I think I’ll work up a few videos and hope they go viral. There’s a challenge: boil the message down to three two-or-three minute videos.

I opened up iMovie today for the first time in what? Six months? I couldn’t remember when anything was. I think of this as the Jeopardy Phenomenon. My wife and I watch Jeopardy every evening over cocktails. Sometimes they broadcast re-runs. Show me a Jeopardy from give years ago and it’s an entirely new experience. It’s not memorable. I’ll mistake the re-run for a brand new show.

The forgetting curve is really mischievous with Jeopardy because it’s a bunch of unrelated topics which are never put into practice. (I’d watch an episode twice if I wanted to remember it for some reason.)

So it is with software you only use once in a blue moon. I can no longer remember how to do the basic stuff in iMovie, like inserting a title at the end of a blue screen presentation.

This is the danger of dabbling. You learn enough to get by the first time and then you have to remember it when you return. I don’t seem to stick with it long enough to plant the procedures in memory, so I have to go back to the beginning again and again.

So it will take me  a while to get my iMovie skills up to speed. Ah, well, that should give me sufficient time to craft the message I want to tell.

Leave a Reply

