Gathering Feedback

When I was a sociology student at Princeton, I took an entire course on public opinion polling.  George Gallup and his sons were alums. The Gallup Poll and several affiliates were across the street from the university. I worked part-time with Gallup. I learned that:

  • if there’s a way to misinterpret things, people will find it. sometimes a simple question get bizarre responses. (Some confused Ready Kilowatt with Donald Duck!)
  • you must pre-test any survey before sending it out.
  • the way you word a question shapes the reply you receive

I’ve prepared a simple survey, 14 questions, and need to get a few people’s reading on it. I want Richard to see it. He’s joining the project as editor. I’ve asked the advisory group.

I know from experience that polls never give the full story. I need to talk with people. “Conversations are the stem-cells of learning.”

My preference for writing over talking to people has cost me in the past. Tuesday through Wednesday are going to be talk-with-customers time. This is a stretch assignment for me, self-imposed. (For the usual reason; I want to get the job done.)

I want to talk with at least 20 people about their impressions of Aha! next week. Hence I will announce both the survey and quickie feedback, arm-twisting folks to touch base.


Person to person has triple the impact of writing. Can we talk briefly this week?

“Conversations are the stem cells of learning.” I’d like to talk with you for 10 or 15 minutes in the middle of this week. I want your first impressions. We can also explore where our interests intersect.

AHA! OFFICE HOURS

Google Chat | Skype jaycross | phone 1. 510.323.5380

August 4 – 7, 2015

Tuesday 8/4, 9-11 am, 2 pm – 6 pm, 9-11 pm
Wednesday 8/5, 9-11 am, 2 pm – 6 pm, 9-11 pm, HangOut on air at 11:00am
Thursday 8/6., 9-11 am, 2 pm – 6 pm, 9-11 pm, HangOut on air at 6:00pm

Pacific time. Time converter.

{August 5. No surprise. No calls.)

The following week I will be out of pocket, ogling amazing automobiles at Monterey Car Week, so let’s squeeze in a brief time to talk before I go.

Hoping to have dozens of ten-minute conversations to get people’s take on the book, no matter what stage they are at.

I need to hear the good, the bad, and the ugly before throwing everything I’ve got into the project.

10-15 minutes. share anything I know. hear what you know that i don’t. impressions.


I put the message into a direct mail and sent it to everyone.  Now I wait.

Jay’s online office

All times are Pacific.

