My monkey mind

I awoke this morning knowing what I had to do next on the book project: convert the graphics to black and white. I did that. Looking at the text, I decided I needed an inspirational quote to being the Personal Learning Plan section. Once on the net, I found myself looking through the lyrics of rock songs, 25 of ’em. My mind drifted. I was no longer looking for quotations so much as just following links, hoping to find the perfect quote in the haystack of the internet. The odds were against me. I knew a more specific search would yield better results but I persisted in fooling around, just to see what I might find.

I have a mild case of ADHD, the inattention variety. I have to catch myself when I drift away from a project to get back on track.

ADHD is a problem and an opportunity. I lose focus when I let my curiosity guide me. This costs time. But I end up finding interesting but esoteric shit that most people never see.

For the next few days, I’m going to monitor my aimless wandering to see what it’s costing me.

Leave a Reply

