My motivated skills

Knowing my signature strengths has shaped what I know about me and directed my career choices.

You might as well know a little about me, so here are my top seven strengths and how I feel about them.

Creativity, ingenuity, and originality (1) 99th percentile

Thinking of new ways to do things is a crucial part of who you are. You are never content with doing something the conventional way if a better way is possible. | My hallmark.

Curiosity and interest in the world (2) 99th percentile

You are curious about everything. You are always asking questions, and you find all subjects and topics fascinating. You like exploration and discovery. | Yes, yes, yes.

Love of learning (3) 99th percentile

You love learning new things, whether in a class or on your own. You have always loved school, reading, and museums-anywhere and everywhere there is an opportunity to learn. | Not school, but reading and museums.

Bravery and valor (4) 97th percentile

You are a courageous person who does not shrink from threat, challenge, difficulty, or pain. You speak up for what is right even if there is opposition. You act on your convictions. | True, even when foolish.

Humor and playfulness (6)

You like to laugh and tease. Bringing smiles to other people is important to you. You try to see the light side of all situations. | Yes, although people often dont get my jokes.

Perspective (wisdom) (7).

Although you may not think of yourself as wise, your friends hold this view of you. They value your perspective on matters and turn to you for advice. You have a way of looking at the world that makes sense to others and to yourself. | This feels right.

Now I use these as a checklist for the activities I choose to do going forward. If a challenge doesnt call for my strengths, Ill find something else to do. Noble prize winner Daniel Kahneman summed up his philosophy on achieving happiness in his 600-page Thinking Fast and Slow: to be happier, spend more time doing what you like. 

Leave a Reply

